Fictional alphabet patterns

Fictional alphabets (writing systems used in books, films, and computer games) or Imaginary alphabets in the field of visual arts are becoming more and more popular every next year. Thanks to my friend Georgios Diapoulis who drew my attention to the fact that > strudel.tidalcycles.org is now using a couple of these amazing fonts. I have been working with fictional alphabets since 2010 and basically, they are all meant for my circular compositions I have a couple of posters and another product of printed media translated into my own scripts. Seeing how JavaScript can “work” on a fictional alphabet was mind-blowing. I am currently writing my thesis about artist-invented writing systems and future perspectives. Are there any other futuristic perspectives for fictional or imaginary alphabets?

3 Likes

Hey Gundega,
good to see you here! I post here some of your works I posted on Strudel’s Discord channel. (well, only one as the platform says)

And I also want to share my experience with live coding using the new fonts.

The experience of writing without the ability to read the written text is a defamiliarisation for the user.
Maybe this article is relevant here: Designing interaction for designers | Proceedings of the 9th ACM Conference on Creativity & Cognition

Best,
Georgios

2 Likes

Hi, thanks for the article: "
defamiliarization as a disorientation technique used to actively engage users, provoking innovative interaction experiences
 " happy to see that there are some movements in this direction. Although it is not new, I think product design in general uses similar concepts all the time, but I have not seen any similar articles until now. Thanks for dl.acm.org link too. All the best. G.

Lovely topic and amazing images, thanks for sharing!

(Sorry the forum defaults are a bit strict, you should be able to post multiple images now)